h1

Don’t Fear Death

June 10, 2014

No pulse, no responsibilities! Now, I wouldn’t use a phrase such as “heartbroken” ’cause it’s way too strong a word, but finishing up the day’s work for the coming Videogram mix last night, I was truly shocked finding out about Rik Mayall‘s untimely death.

Along with his fellow actors of the cult TV show The Young Ones, Rik played a major part of me discovering the British humor I love to this day. It was (and is!) loud, brash, rude and laced with beautiful sarcasm that had me instantly enamored – I guess somewhat “punk” in its attitude. If memory serves me correct I must’ve been in the fifth grade when that first episode aired sometime back in the 1980s with fellow geniuses from the likes of  Monty Python up to today’s The Daily Mash following, bringing me endless enjoyment.

Now, here’s where things get kinda eerie: It turns out that one of the last works Rik did before his passing was to voice the 3-minute short Don’t Fear Death. Produced for Channel Four as part of their Random Acts series it showcases Rik inimitable comic delivery exploring the benefits of, well, being dead. It’s kinda funny albeit bittersweet seeing this now, but it’s worth checking out.

R.I.P. Rik.

Leave a Reply

