h1

Sock It to Me, Baby!

January 7, 2014

A week in on the new year I’d figured it was time to create something new, right? Well, good thing yesterday evening was one of those brilliant creative bouts that don’t happen too damn often, but still thrills me to no end when “they fall right in your lap” like I prefer to call it.

Pretty much taking a break from some soundtrack work, I decided to toy around with this so-so kinda horn section sample and the next thing you know the tentatively titled Funky Simian jumped out of me. Adding a nice funk rhythm to it I figured I wanted to go kinda surf-ish with the whole thing – but using Casio keyboards instead of guitars. It turned out kinda groovy and quirky with a nice “cool” vibe, for lack of a better word.

Having the track roughly 80% finished I was so psyched by the results last night that I decided to create a teaser video using some old sexploitation trailer in order to share it. Taken from Lou Campa‘s 1968 Sock It to Me, Baby – released by Something Weird Video, natch! – it’s a nice sort of tribute to Mike Vraney. Roughly a minute long, so check it out on YouTube and spread the word.

Leave a Reply

