h1

Cutthroats at Midnight (video)

September 29, 2013
copyright Robert Boud 2013!

copyright Robert Boud 2013!

Well, as I just finished watching the video for Robert Boud‘s series The Holocaust twice, I found myself utterly speechless by the results. Ironically enough it gave me the urge to say something, or at least try to sum up how watching it made me feel. And analyzing that makes me realize we’re onto something pretty damn good here. When was the last time something gave you goosebumps?

I know I jest with the “art is the enemy” tag – my problem has never been with “art” per se, but rather some of the ridiculous pretensions that comes along with it –  as I feel that true art should affect you in some way or another. Either make you angry, or laugh, or – as in this case – render you utterly speechless with its visceral power. After the initial viewing all I could muster up was a quiet, mumbly  “wow”. This is as dark, ugly, and vicious as the insanities that took place in Europe 70 years ago. It’s like a punch in the gut, a kick in the balls, affirming me that at such a young age, Robert’s already onto creating something that truly grabs you.

The video is some damn powerful stuff and I found myself holding my breath towards the end of it – and I’m familiar with both the song and the imagery, ha ha ha. I’m looking forward to Robert making it official so I can share it with you guys. ‘Til then you should join him on Facebook here.

Leave a Reply

