h1

The Hit ‘In Sounds’ of Today’s Outside Crowd!

June 29, 2013
copyright Sellergren Design 2013!

copyright Sellergren Design 2013!

Yeah, well I am fully aware that I stated that the phrase was just something I intentionally added in order to make the sleeve look more retro, but some snafu at Bandcamp when it came to keeping the URL simple led me to change the title of the first official Call Me Greenhorn album to The Hit ‘In Sounds’ of Today’s Outside Crowd (otherwise it’d be three albums now with that title in one form or another). I guess it’s got a nice ring to it, it kinda reminds me of The Beastie Boys‘ instrumental album The In Sounds From Way Out.

Fifteen tracks in total that I worked with off and on since mid-January if memory serves me correct, and listening to it now I’m kinda satisfied with the final results. Got everything from new wave to ska, dub, breakbeats, a whole lot of “whut ‘n’ huh?” (yeah, that’s the phrase I use for ’em!) and there’s even some Kraftwerk tunage in Yinghuo-10 that was inspired by the increasing progress of the Chinese space program. And I think it’s a pretty darn cool name for your space missions as “firefly” is the correct translation of 萤火 (Yinghuo).

It’s way too early for me to name any favorites – I had this finished roughly around 3 A.M. this morning – and those things always have a tendency to change over time anyway. But I’m really happy with the sequencing (track order) and I consider it to offer up enough variation so you as a lsitener don’t get bored.

Check it out on Bandcamp, be cool and spread the word, join me on Facebook and give the edited version of Rude Boys Gonna Sort Him Out a spin on my SoundCloud:

Leave a Reply

