h1

Echoplex Theme

June 20, 2013
copyright Sellergren Design 2013!

copyright Sellergren Design 2013!

Stay tuned next week as it sees the release of the first, “official” album from my solo project Call Me Greenhorn – although it’s what, the third released this year? Plainly entitled Call Me Greenhorn – that other stuff was just added to give it the right retro 1960’s feel – it’ll have a total of fifteen tracks, although that might change as I am having one final sequencing session in a couple of days just going through all the songs and make sure I’m 100% satisfied with the results.

The sleeve itself is actually one of those Plan B type affairs. I had a different space monkey photograph in mind, but the license fee was just too steep for me to invest in at this early stage of the project – yeah, I’m actually trying to earn some money doing this! So, good thing that 1) NASA‘s photographs are considered to be in the public domain, and 2) they sent chimps up in space with some regularity back in the 1960’s enabling me to create the sleeve for the optimum cost of hours. The photo depicts Ham aka Ham the Chimp and Ham the Astrochimp, he was the first primate in space and his remains are actually buried in a memorial grave at the New Mexico Museum of Space History in Alamogordo, New Mexico. Read up on this fellow at Wikipedia. With the photo licensing solved I went right ahead trying to recreate a sort of retro-60’s instrumental album feel and am pretty satisfied with the results.

The album will be released next week, but you can get a teaser taste on my SoundCloud starting today. Entitled Echoplex Theme it’s actually the track that got me my contract with a licensing agency in the U.S. – but I’ll share more info on that story later on. In the mean time, give it a spin and tell your friends!

Leave a Reply

