h1

(The Sounds of) X-Mas

December 3, 2012

Well, again ’tis the season, and as I am a total music nerd what could be more fitting than for me to share some sounds that I think are great as well as fitting the coming holiday? First up is my absolute favorite X-Mas song (yeah, I’m pulling an Orson Welles and start at the top to slowly work my way down to the bottom baby!); Darlene Love‘s pure magical Christmas (Baby Please Come Home) produced by whack genius Phil Spector.

The same four chords over and over it actually predates the formula later perfected by The Ramones with that huge sound only Mr. Spector could achieve. And Darlene’s voice is just brilliant to the point of giving me goosebumps no matter how many times I hear it. Now, much has been said about ol’ Phil from everybody including former colleagues to ex-wives, and after the infamous murder he was guilty of much of it has been painfully proven to be true, but his recording techniques were still nothing short of brilliant. Him and Brian Wilson were the best American producers of the 60s and even today there’s a ton of his techniques to be incorporated into your work – like actually using phasing to create a fuller sound.

Now, I’m not one to condone anything that generates money into the pocket of a condemned murderer, but if my understanding is correct the profits gathered from today’s sales actually goes to his victim’s family (can anyone corroborate this?), so with that said I can highly recommend his 4 CD box set Back to Mono that includes the classic A Christmas Gift for You album – filled with classics like this. It’s available on Amazon.com, but at a whopping $120.

Leave a Reply

