h1

MAGIX Audio Cleaning Lab (update)

October 12, 2012

Well, considering the subject of my previous post I’d say the irony sure isn’t lost on me. But lemme back it up a little bit first. I should probably start this off by saying that I am in no way sponsored by the manufacturers of MAGIX Audio Cleaning Lab, nor am I affiliated with them. I know there are blogs out there that pretty much are run by people that earn their living by writing thinly disguised fluff pieces for brands and whatnot, but I am not one of those. I’m just a guy writing about whatever pops into my head.

Anyway, that said I downloaded the trial version of the program and this little baby is nothing short of amazing. I imported a couple of songs from the upcoming The Haunted House of Horror’s Horrific Halloween Twist-a-Rama mix into it without really expecting anything and ended up being pretty blown away. Now, I’d already spent the last week and a half removing pops and noises on these tracks the Old School way and decided on the spot to rip it all up and redo the whole damn thing from scratch just based on the results. And I had spent hours on the first version. But this program really delivers when it comes to noise removal and it is easy and user-friendly to boot. Honestly I’m finding it hard to believe a program that holds such a high level is made available at such a low price. Great for saving (and re-mastering!) vinyl transfers, low-quality MP3s or old cassette tapes – check it out!

Now, you just have to take my word for that until next week. You see, after finishing up all 30 tracks I was so enthustiastic by the results I decided to share it with you in audio form. So I picked an old, damaged MP3 off an old punk rock 7″ that snapped and crackled to high heaven, cleaned it up using said program and uploaded two MP3s (pre- and post) on SoundCloud so anyone remotely interested could listen and judge the results by themselves. But apparently their “automatic content protection system” detected that the two tracks might include copyrighted material (well DUH!), so now that account has been “temporarily paused.” Very strange considering I used Example (without clean-up) and Example (after clean-up) as titles.

Oh well, I’ve created a new account on MixCloud, and you can listen to the Halloween mix instead as all tracks are taken from vinyl. I’ll post it this coming week.

Leave a Reply

