h1

Maximum Overdrive

September 23, 2012

Well, keeping up with my put-your-feet-up-and-relax theme of the last couple of days, I once again decided to revisit an old horror favorite I haven’t seen in ages: Stephen King‘s Maximum Overdrive! Remember that one? Based on a short story that originally appeared in one of his collections who’s name I’d be damned if I could remember, it was actually the first horror movie I saw back in the 80s. I still remember sneaking into the cinema being about 12 or 13 years old (the age limit was 15) and getting a big kick out of seeing it, and even though I sure have seen way better movies since then it was still fun getting reaquainted to it in a nostalgic kinda way.

Speaking of which; even though I haven’t read anything to confirm or deny it, I’m still pretty sure ol’ Steve, ahem, “borrowed” the idea for his short story from the made-for-TV cult classic Killdozer that aired in 1974. Based on Theodore Sturgeon‘s short story that appeared in pulpy Astounding Science Fiction Magazine as far back as 1944 it tells the similar tale where a work crew on an island gets killed one by one by a bulldozer that’s running on its own. Check it out:

Leave a Reply

